Late Florence De Silva Memorial Fund donation to Erudite Institute (Pragna Shalikawa) in Kuruwita, Ratnapura.

APSL through the Late Florence De Silva Memorial Fund, donated a projector, screen and and other items to Erudite Institute (Pragna Shalikawa) in Kuruwita, Ratnapura. Children and residents of the area highly appreciated this donation and expressed their heartfelt gratitude to APSL.  

APSL represented at United Nations Climate Change conference 2021 – COP26

Executive committee members President Thushara Madurasinghe and Project lead Gihantha Jayasinghe represented APSL at the United Nations Climate Change conference 2021 which ended concluded recently. Consensus was reached by over 190 countries after two weeks of intense negotiations. Progress was made to get commitments to cut emissions to keep within reach the global warming limit of 1.5 degrees celsius, to reach the target of 100 billion USD per year of climate finance to developing and vulnerable countries and also to get agreement on the Paris rulebook.
Our members had the opportunity to meet delegates from other nations as well as catch up with the Sri Lankan delegation. It also gave an opportunity to attend sessions and mingle with worldwide dignitaries including PM Boris Johnson. US President Joe Biden, HRH Prince William, Bill Gates, Elle Goulding, Theresa May, Barack Obama, US special presidential envoy for climate John Kerry, Indian PM Narendra Modi, Liz Truss, COP26 President Alok Sharma, First minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon and President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen just to name a few.
APSL continues to strive on its solar villages in Sri Lanka and has plans to expand the project over the coming few months


The President of APSL Thushara Madurasinghe and We Sri Lanka Project lead Don Gihantha Jayasinghe  represented APSL at  a Pre COP26 meeting organised by the International Nitrogen Management Systems (INMS) and the Government of Sri Lanka on the 31st Oct 2021, in Glasgow, Scotland. The event was titled: Rediscovering Nitrogen: Solutions and synergies for Climate Change, Health Biodiversity and Circular Economy. The session focused on sustainable nitrogen management. It was mentioned that Daniel Rutherford discovered nitrogen in 1772 and James Hutton established the world’s first nitrogen manufacturing plant in Scotland.

The Keynote address was delivered by H.E Gotabaya Rajapaksa, President of Sri Lanka who is also leading the Colombo Declaration on sustainable Nitrogen management.

Amongst the VVIP’s/VIP’s in attendance were:

H.E Gotabaya Rajapaksa – President of Sri Lanka

H.E Ibrahim Mohamed Solih – President of Maldives

Hon. Prof. G. L. Peiris – Minister of Foreign Affairs, Sri Lanka

Rt. Hon. Patricia Scotland – Secretary General of the Commonwealth

Prof. Julie Fitzpatrick – Chief Scientific Advisor for Scotland

Hon. Mahinda Amaraweera – Minister for Environment, SL

Hon. Duminda Dissanayake – Minister for Solar Power and Energy, SL

H.E Mrs Saroja Sirisena, Sri Lankan High Commissioner

Mr. Samantha Pathirana – Deputy High Commissioner

Prof. Mark Sutton, Director – INMS

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon  – Minister South Asia – FCDO

Mr. Lalith Weeratunga  – Private Secretary to H. E. President of Sri Lanka

Dr. Anil Jasinghe – Secretary – Ministry of Environment, Sri Lanka

Prof. Michael Eddleston – Sri Lanka Hon Consul in Scotland

APSL representatives managed to have in depth discussions with many of the above individuals about the work  of APSL and in particular the Solar Village project which goes in line and supports the COP26 agenda and aims. In particular on discussion with H.E Gotabaya Rajapaksha he reviewed with us the concept of Solar Villages and other work of APSL.  They also had separate discussions with Minister of Foreign Affairs of Sri Lanka, Hon. Prof. G.L Peiris about APSL projects.