17th Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The 17th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Association of Professional Sri Lankans in the UK (APSL) was held via Zoom on the 15th May 2021. The Sri Lankan Deputy High Commissioner, Mr. Samantha Pathirana, APSL members, well-wishers, and other distinguished guests were amongst those who attended.
The AGM started by observing 2 minutes of silence to remember those who lost their lives to the COVID19 Pandemic. The first session of the meeting began with the welcome address by the APSL President Dr. Mahesh Silva, followed by minutes of the previous AGM, the General Secretary’s annual report for 2020-2021 by Mrs. Gayani Senaratne, Treasurer’s statement of accounts by Miss. Buddhini Liyanage and Election of Office bearers by Presiding Officer Rohan De Alwis.
The elected officers for 2021/22 are as follows:
President: Mr. Thushara Madurasinghe
General Secretary: Mrs. Gayani Senaratne
Vice Presidents: Dr. Mohan Siriwardena, Dr. Leshan Uggalla, Mr. Tariq Salih
Treasurer: Miss. Buddhini Liyanage
Membership Secretary: Ms. Gowri Dep
Executive committee: 
Prof Sir Sabaratnam Arulkumaran
Mr. Leslie Dep
Mr. Gihantha Jayasinghe
Dr. Dilrini De Silva
Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy
Dr. Marc Dissanayake
Mr. Sudantha De Silva
Dr. Anuradha Samarasinghe
Mr. Suraj Wijendra
Mr. Rohan De Alwis
Mrs. Paola Bethmage
Dr. Dulini Fernando
Mr. Meril Fernando
Dr. Mahesh De Silva (IPP)
Prof IM Dharmadasa
Prof Terrance Fernando
Mr. Sanjaya Kodituwakku
Mr. Mervyn Silva
The final session of the day was a webinar on “A route to a sustainable future in Sri Lanka through renewable energy” by Prof. Ravi Silva.